Dr. Winn-Deen received her B.S. in Chemistry from Lehigh University and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from Boston University, and has over 30 years of experience in diagnostics product development. Currently she is vice president for diagnostics product development at Illumina. Most recently, she was president of Rx Dx Advisors, a diagnostics consulting company, and vice president for genetics and oncology R&D at Cepheid, a molecular diagnostics company focusing on rapid nucleic acid testing located in Sunnyvale, CA. Her career has included development of clinical chemistry reagents, urinalysis strips, immunoassays, FISH probes, and DNA diagnostics. As an R&D group leader at Applied Biosystems, Dr. Winn-Deen managed the team developing their cystic fibrosis assay, and as director of diagnostics R&D at Oncor, Inc. she led the team developing novel DNA-based cancer assays including the first FDA approved test for HER2/neu. While at Celera Genomics she directed the high throughput genotyping laboratory and was responsible for developing genotyping assays to facilitate establishing the correlation between human polymorphisms and various medically important traits. After completion of the human genome at Celera Genomics, she was senior director of the genomics business area at Roche Molecular Systems in Pleasanton, CA, where she was involved in translating genetic research findings for complex disease into DNA diagnostic products. She has served as Principal Investigator or Co-Investigator on funded grants from the NIST Advanced Technology Program, the National Cancer Institute, and the US Department of Defense, and on grant review committees for the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease and the National Cancer Institute. Dr. Winn-Deen received the Northern California Section?s Harold Van Remortel Service Award in 1993, their Outstanding Contribution to Clinical Chemistry through Science and Technology Award in 2006, and AACC?s Outstanding Speaker Award in 1997. Other awards include Behring Diagnostics? Customer Acceptance Award (1981) and Behring Award (1985), and Applera Corporation?s Inventor Award (2001). In recognition of her career achievements, she was elected a Fellow in the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry in 2000. She served on the Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary?s Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society (SACGHS) from 2003 through 2006. In 2007 she was one of 19 scientists appointed to the Health and Human Services Centers for Disease Control Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee (CLIAC).


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.